Back to All Events

IFPA Australian Championship Series Final

The race for the 2016-17 ACS is over! The standings can be viewed here:

These standings are now final, as is the list of competitors.

12 players advised that they won't be attending. We had to go down to #44 in the standings to fill the 32 tournament places.

Here's the tournament info (reposted from the format discussion thread):

The 2016-17 Australian Championship Series Final will be held at the Thornbury Bowls Club, 27 Ballantyne St, Thornbury VIC 3071.

It's a short walk to High St cafes, the St Georges Motor Inn, route 11 and 86 trams, and Thornbury station on the South Morang train line.

The following tournaments are confirmed:
Thursday 9 February, 7pm-11pm: Flip Frenzy tournament. All welcome. $20 entry. 
Friday 10 February, 6:30pm-midnight: Strikes tournament. All welcome. $15 entry.
Saturday 11 February, 10am-10pm; Sunday 12 February, 10am-6pm: Australian Championship Series. Restricted to 32 players, based on 2016 ACS standings. $60 entry.

Payment can be made via either direct deposit or PayPal. Ensure to include your name as a comment/reference so that we can track your payment. Please pay in advance for all of the tournaments you plan to attend: I expect both the Thursday and Friday night events to reach capacity. 

We're also planning to run a split-flipper tournament on the Saturday night. I had also mentioned the possibility of holding a pump-and-dump comp on Friday and Saturday, but this is looking increasingly unfeasible.

The Flip Frenzy on the Thursday will use the popular loser-stays-on-until-they've-lost-two-in-a-row format. It will run for 3.5 hours.

The Strikes tournament on Friday will consist of 4-player matches. Players who finish 3rd and 4th in a match will get a strike. Players will be eliminated after receiving 2 strikes.

The ACS Final itself will follow the rules published here: 

More information at the Aussie Arcade Forum link here:

Earlier Event: January 27
Coogee Flip Frenzy
Later Event: February 21
Pinball HQ Marathon